Beauty Fyle: let’s geek out

So today we are totally geeking out to find who actually owns your favorite cosmetics & beauty brands! If you don’t already know, cosmetics come from about 4 major companies & factories. Now there are independently owned companies too. But the majority is that, most brands are owned by larger companies…

This idea to post this came because, I was in utter shock when I found out that Korres beauty is owned by Johnson & Johnson! The company who makes baby oil. (At least that’s how I remember the company) at least Johnson & Johnson is family run, not all companies are, so that’s good in my book! But I still question why I am paying $20+ for a facial cleanser when it’s owned by a company such as Johnson & Johnson. That’s just my opinion though.

So here we are geeking out and figuring out which beauty lines come from which company! Obviously, I haven’t researched all of the cosmetics brands , but I searched out several! So here you are! And I might add, if you are the least bit curious as to know as I was, google: who owns (blank) brand ? Fill in the blank obviously with which brand you want.

P&G:
Covergirl
Fekkai

Estée Lauder:
Estée Lauder
Aveda
Bobbi Brown
Bumble & bumble
Clinique
Donna Karen
Jo Malone
La mer
MAC
Origins
Perscriptives
Ojon
Smashbox
Stila
NYX

Shiseido:
Bare minerals: Bare Escentuals: Buxom
Nars

L’oreal:
L’oreal
Lancôme
Giorgio Armani
Yves saint Laurent
Biotherm
Kiehl’s
Ralph Lauren fragrances
Shu Uemura
Chacharel
Clarisonic
Urban decay
Garnier
Maybelline
Essie
Kerastase
Redken
Pureology
Vichy
Body shop

Coty Inc.:
NYC New York Color
Nicole by OPI
OPI
Philosophy
Rimmel London
Sally Hansen

And independently owned:
Chanel
Benefit
Tarte
Illamasqua
Hourglass
Butter London
Bastiste

So there you have it! A lot of brands are owned by others, and I’m sure I’ll be surprised the next time I pick up and read a product to see who owns it! I encourage you to research who owns what, and you never know you may just get a history lesson out of it and learn a thing or two!

Thanks so much for reading! And If you know of any more brands that are independently owned or company owned PLEASE leave a comment below I’d love to hear about it!
Thanks, Ryn

6 thoughts on “Beauty Fyle: let’s geek out

    1. Thanks so much for your comment! I know at least a handful of these brands are cruelty free. But I will try and check before buying. Thanks!

  1. Actually Johnson & Johnson does not own Korres.
    Korres is a Greek brand and Johnson & Johnson was its distributor in America. Was. It’s no longer. That has recently changed. Korres is also a family – run company and not owned by anyone, at least for now.

    1. Letstalkcosmetics, thanks so much for the info! I knew they were a Greek brand and family owned. I was just shocked when I saw that Johnson & Johnson was distributing their products! But now, thanks to you, I know they actually don’t! Yay! Thanks again! – Ryn

Leave a Reply

