DIY Friday… Err.. Saturday: indigo dyed tee

I’ve had a full week this week! Some it has been challenging and others of it has been really great! I did babysit my niece twice. And I was able to put a few things on poshmark & etsy! Then, I was able yesterday to go to my church’s summer fest on our new land!!! Praise God! Plus I got to see a few of my favorite peoples!

6.7.14 063 6.7.14 064

The red one was my fave!
And then, instead of celebrating national donut day, I celebrated ice cream night instead with French vanilla ice cream & crunched up Heath bar… The Best! (I’m not really a sprinkles kind of gal, but I like me some Heath!) and then ended a Friday night with a movie on the UP channel and a napkin throwing war with my mom! It was some kind of fun!

How has your week/weekend been so far? Got anything fun planned for tonight & tomorrow?

Now onto the “Shibori indigo dying” tee. This more like a cheat way to Shibori ones clothes.

-There is an infinite number of ways one can bind, stitch, fold, twist, or compress cloth for shibori, and each way results in very different patterns. Each method is used to achieve a certain result, but each method is also used to work in harmony with the type of cloth used. Therefore, the technique used in shibori depends not only on the desired pattern, but the characteristics of the cloth being dyed. Also, different techniques can be used in conjunction with one another to achieve even more elaborate results. For more info on Shibori click HERE.

This technique that I’m using has no rhyme or reason to it. I thought of this idea and I wanted to test it out… And it actually worked and it’s super cute!
This tee kind of reminds me of the cover of the civil wars album cover. Not so much the coloring… As in not at all, but the technique I used. Very smokey. I kind of want to make another one with black or dark grey dye! I think it would look great!

the-civil-wars-the-one-that-got-away-single

What to gather for this project:
A washed White Tee (I used a men’s Hanes tee in two sizes too big, cause I like boxy tees at the moment)
Navy blue dye (Dylon dye is what I used, but RIT is great too!)
Latex gloves
Spray water bottle
Clothes Hanger
Needle
Navy Embroidery floss

5.22.14 019

You’ll want an area that can get messy. I did mine outside on the picnic table in the grass. Also you’ll want to have clothes on that you don’t mind getting dye on… In case.

1. Put your gloves on.
2. Lay your shirt out on your surface

5.22.14 018
3. Open the dye package, take pinch fulls of dye between your fingers and sprinkle it throughout the tee. Make heavier dye spots too.

5.22.14 020
4. Take your water bottle and spray the shirt. You’ll soon see the dye sprinkles melding in areas and bleeding in others.
5. Flip to the other side. Repeat steps 3. & 4.
6. Take the hanger, slide the shirt onto the hanger. And let completely dry. (I waited a good day & a half.
7. I then washed the tee alone. Make sure to was dark clothes after washing the tee. You do not want your white clothes to become blue. Just a word to the wise! Then you’ll dry it.
8. I then rolled up the sleeve 2-3 times on each side. I then added my embroidery floss to my needle and tied the end in a knot. And added four 1/4″ stitches to each arm.
9. Then presto, you’re done!

6.7.14 071

It’s super easy and so fun to make!

Here’s how I styled it:

6.7.14 074

  • Shibori dyed tee
  • Midi skirt
  • strappy leather sandals
  • Leather earrings from Maude C.

Perfect & minimalistic.

Thanks so much for reading! Hope you have a blast this weekend!
-Ryn
Instagram: @rynb
Etsy.com/maudec

And as always, you can email me: styledbyryn@gmail.com : )

Leave a Reply

