DIY Friday: The Puuuurrrfect tee

Do you ever have the feeling where you think people are thinking that you are some sort of freak of nature. I think that sometimes, I feel like people think I’m odd, that I do what I do, and how I do it. I’ve discovered long ago that I’m a giver. I love to give, it makes me happy to give. I mean, I love to receive too, don’t get me wrong. But there’s just something about giving, that gives me an adrenaline rush! And it doesn’t even matter if I know the person or not. I just love to see others happy. I’m off my soapbox… I think.

Now onto the DIY, I was on IG a few week back and I saw this photo:20141015-115416-42856237.jpg
That I knew I just had to have it, but I had no idea where to find it. Apparently it’s from Brandy Melville, but they are sold out of them. : (
But since I love to hand embroider, I thought, why not! I love love love this shirt!
Now, I made my whole shirt from scratch (as you can see in the below pic, with the neckline still needing to be sewn on.) but you are more than welcome to get a ready to wear tee & embroider it. Whatever’s easiest for you!

20141018-114050-42050120.jpg

What to gather:
3 skeins of embroidery floss (I used dark grey)
Tee shirt
Scissors
Needle
Blue washable marker (you can usually find these in the sewing notion section, either double ended with a purple disappearing marker or by itself.)
1. Lay your shirt out flat. Then you’ll want to free hand draw the face of your kitty. Eye lashes & whiskers included.

20141018-114852-42532451.jpg
2. Start somewhere on the face. I used the split stitch through it all, except the eyes. I used the satin stitch for the eyes. I started on the mouth and nose. You can embroider both with one swell foot, never needing to tie off.

20141018-115257-42777928.jpg
2. Next, eyes. Go around the outline of the eyes. tie off. Then you’ll go on the outer Lines of the pupils. Then the inner rims of the pupil. Then I used the thread to fill in the pupil. And tie it off.
3. Add your eyelashes on.

20141018-120006-43206733.jpg
4. Add the whiskers on.

20141018-120100-43260561.jpg
5. And then you’re done! Ta-da!
Absolutely puuurrrrfect!

I know I’ll be pairing this tee with boyfriend jeans and booties and plaid scarf.

Now go & do it and then use the hashtag: #SBRDiyfriday I’d love to see what you made!

Thanks for reading! Enjoy! -Ryn

Leave a Reply

