Things in my noggin: Today marks a year…

Today. Today marks 1 year since my world came crashing down. The day my mom had a stroke. A stroke, sometimes referred to as a cerebrovascular accident (CVA), cerebrovascular insult (CVI), or colloquially brain attack is the loss of brain function due to a disturbance in the blood supply to the brain. This disturbance is due to either ischemia (lack of blood flow) or hemorrhage.[1] As a result, the affected area of the brain cannot function normally, which might result in an inability to move one or more limbs on one side of the body, failure to understand or formulate speech, or a vision impairment of one side of the visual field.[2]

I woke up last year by my sister screaming at me that my mom was having a stroke and to hold my baby niece. It woke me up. But I’m not sure that’s the wake-up call I wanted. But it happened. The doctor confirmed that she had a 6 peak stroke. That day was indescribable, traumatic really. I had a whirlwind of emotions going in & around my mind & heart. All the what-ifs possible. I already had a plan B, IF she had died. I was going to go as far as I could, never looking back, because I knew I wouldn’t be able to handle it, if I had stayed.
That week was the weekend before FunkyFinds. Already a busy week. I had a panic attack to boot! Oh and I was sick.
But just a short week before, I had discovered some things about my dad, that, for a daughter, shouldn’t know about. But I do. (And I haven’t received any sympathy from my siblings yet either😖)
I sometimes regret telling my mom. Is that bad? I know I added more stress to her life. Did I somehow cause it?!

I remember watching my niece that day in my room as the EMT’s were emerging through my house. I needed to do something. I had texted my friend Anna, who I knew I could trust & pray with me. She texted back, that her mom was going to call me. By this time , I think I was in shock by this point. But, she called, prayed with me, and loved on me. I knew I could count on her. And I still do.

That day was a wake up call. It was a hard wake up call, but it was eye-opening.
True, my mom was under A TON of pressure. I know part of it, but I think there was more to it than that. She’s not exactly forth-coming with her emotions. But thankfully she’s Alive & well! She had victory over death. She made it. She’s becoming healthier everyday. Stronger too. She’s a survivor. The doctor actually said she had the PERFECT stroke. I know that may sound odd, but three other stroke patients were in the hospital that week, one couldn’t speak, one couldn’t eat with out feeding tubes & one was paralyzed. The stroke had No effect on her. She is completely healed! Her face didn’t sag, she can speak clearly, she can walk! The Lord is so amazing! He is soooo faithful! I believe, part of it was that my family had come together, taking communion while in the peaks she was going through & they multitude of people praying for her healing that really made the difference. The angels were out there protecting her that day! Thank You Lord!

I can’t express how much this experience has changed my life. But I’m do grateful for the people in my life. Yes, life is hard. It’s not fun sometimes. But it’s worth it. Surround yourself with good people. Don’t expect God just to do the little things in your life, expect Him to do the HUGE things in your life! You are more than a conqueror through Jesus Christ.

Today I celebrate LIFE and life more abundant.

I hope this has in some way helped you. Restored you in some way, given you hope, courage, whatever you need! Maybe, even to see my heart a little bit more, And encouraged you today!
Thanks for reading!

And I promise on Friday, it’ll be back to my normal posts, I just needed to post this.😁
Love y’all! -Ryn

Leave a Reply

