Advent No. 1: Welcome December!

IMG_5641.JPG
Oh my gosh it’s the FIRST DAY OF DECEMBER!!! It is exactly 24 days until Christmas! Eeek!

So for 24 days we are going to celebrate! Each day will be an advent, where you visit the blog with anticipation of what you’ll find, but let me warn you it’s going to be awesome! Bring on the candy canes, the garlands, the holly berry, the Fashion, the giveaways, the guest blog posts, the gift ideas, the… Wait did I just say giveaways?! Yes, I did!!! So get excited!!!

If you are not familiar with the term advent, let me share with you:
Advent is a season observed in many Western Christian churches as a time of expectant waiting and preparation for the celebration of the Nativity of Jesus at Christmas. The term is an anglicized version of the Latin word adventus, meaning “coming”.
The celebration usually involves gifts. Each day you are to open 1 gift, in anticipation for the 25th & the coming of The Lord. It’s one of my favorite traditions & I hope it becomes yours aswell!

Let’s take a trip back to memory lane, when my mom used to lavish each of us girls, my two sisters & I, with little practical and some impractical things. We would gather around her, as she read a book or a scripture each night. And then we were able to open our brown paper packages, tied up with string. Each of us having a turn, as to who should get the bag that night. And all I can remember is joy & peace resounded there. It wasn’t about the gifts, really, but the anticipation of Christmas!

I’ve never thought Christmas was my favorite holiday (thanksgiving is still my #1), until this year! I’ve been consumed with all things Christmas, but more importantly, thankfulness & gratefulness! Yes, I have been blessed with many good things, and in turn, I can be a blessing to others, my family, my friends, strangers!

So, as we celebrate, let us atleast do one random act of kindness this December, whether to leave a large tip, buy coffee for a complete stranger, use your abilities & gifts to help others, give your time away! The possibilities are endless! But it’s just rewarding to see someone’s face light up!

Please, I encourage you to tell your friends, family, FB peeps, share on Instagram, shout it from a rooftop, about this blog advent event!

If you’re on Instagram, follow me please: @RynB
And hashtag if you share posts from here with: #SBRADVENT
Thanks y’all!

See you tomorrow! 😘 -Ryn

2 thoughts on “Advent No. 1: Welcome December!

Leave a Reply

