Advent No. 14: Health during the Holidays

image

About me:

First off, my Name is Dyanna. And
I’m honored to be part of this great tradition by Ryn, I totally love the advent idea. And, of course, I’m also honored to be one of her sisters!

I am a Television Producer, who gets to work with some of the best people in the world. I also believe I am married to the very best man in the world! It’s a blessed life. 

Christmas is a time for some that is the most wonderful time of the year, and for others is just their most challenging time of the year. I hope that for you, reader, it is the former. 

With all of the hustle and bustle, holiday parties, family gatherings, traffic, shopping, and gift-giving, things can get pretty stressful.  And, unfortunately, stress wreaks havoc on the immune system…which can also be under attack from all of those extra holiday goodies.  I’d like to remind you of some simple tips to keep yourself healthy all season. 

The first, which honestly is the most difficult, is to learn to say “no.”  It’s a nasty word, I know, but one that deserves some attention. Turning down parties, outings, that third piece of cheesecake, or that “oh-so-perfect-gift” that’s way over your budget may not be the fun thing to do, but your body or budget will thank you later.  Establish some guidelines for yourself. Do they have to be hard and fast rules that can’t ever be broken? Nope, not necessarily, but you do need to have a plan.  It’s all about respecting yourself for who you are and taking care of the wonderful creature you were created to be!

You may be a total socialite. Even so, you need rest. Allow the right amount of sleep for you. It may be 6 hours, it may be a solid 8, but do what is right. Don’t make excuses, make it happen. Your body repairs itself as you sleep, and don’t you want healthy cells fighting off all those nasty germs?!  

Enough of that. Back to turning down that expensive but “oh-so-perfect-gift.”  Although it makes me so happy to find just the right gift for the people I love, sometimes keeping my budget, and thus my life, in balance is just more important.  I have a dear friend who has taught me that true friends are there for each other and respect the goals they have set. Your true friends will understand if you don’t lavish them with excessive gifts. 

With that said, make a budget. Just a general guideline will suffice. When you start with a plan, you will likely stick within 5% of it. Of course, my best advice, which my husband and I do, is to start setting aside funds for next Christmas as soon as this one is over. It doesn’t have to be much, but let time be on your side. Even $10 a paycheck will yield you $260, if you’re paid by-weekly. Save yourself money-stress by saving and being reasonable in your spending. If you’re a talented DIY-er, you can save major moolah by hand-making presents, just don’t let doing that stress you out!

And lastly, I would highly recommend daily exercise. I know the last thing some people want to think about during the busiest season ever is exercise. However, finding just 10-15 minutes to move your body and redirect your focus can pay big dividends in your overall well-being. Guess when the best time to do that is…whenever you actually will!  Go for a walk. Download and use a 7-minute workout app. Take a Pilates or Yoga class during lunch. Build a snowman outside with your kids. Just do something!

Oh, and it doesn’t hurt to take some extra vitamin C and vitamin D this time of year. 

Wishing you all a very happy, and very healthy season. Happy Hanukkah and Merry Christmas!!     

Leave a Reply

