My rendition of a wardrobe capsule

I have come to the conclusion that I don’t DO wardrobe capsules. I do however pick certain pieces out that I wear constantly until I get tired of wearing it.

Here’s what my closet looked like before I purged…

image

This was the before…

image

This is the after.

Just last week I decided to purge some items that have been hanging out in my closet. And some things I gave and others I put on Poshmark to sell. And I switched out hangers. I now have those velvety no-slip hangers. Hallelujah! It looks so nice in there.

image

Before…

image

After…

Anyway I now have an emptier closet that I really like. I do have to do laundry, but that takes time. And when I go to my closet I still feel as if I don’t have clothes to wear… (That feeling will wear off, I promise!)

However, if you’re into capsules, I applaud you! You’re amazing!
But if you’re like me, let me tell you, it’s okay to have a full closet, one to have fun with, one that you enjoy! But please be aware, if you buy something get rid of an item. You may have 800,000 pairs of jeans, when you wear only 3 pair. Being conscious of what you put in your closet isn’t a bad thing. If you’re struggling with what to wear daily, it may be because you have too many clothes that either don’t fit or are no longer in style. That may be what is fogging up your style brain. So purge, purge, purge what you no longer love anymore.
I do like the rule less is more. But I also, really like shopping! So just be mindful, as you shop.

• But I will say this, if for any reason you’re holding onto some garments in the hopes that you’ll fit into it again. Get rid of it. (unless it’s your wedding dress or something special like that…) It depends on if you still love it when you’re that size again, if you’re ever that size again or if the styles have changed by then. If so, toss it or sell it. No use in storing them, when you probably won’t wear it or need it. And definitely get rid of the poverty mentality of “I may never be able to afford these Gucci pants again!” You will, I just know it. But just know those may be going quickly out of style or have been for the last decade.

Your closet should mean more to you than how you’re probably treating it. So only keep things that spark joy in your life.

This weekend you should go through your closet. Keep what you love and you will wear. Toss what doesn’t fit/things you don’t really like. And if you have any questions, don’t be afraid to email me: Styledbyryn@gmail.com

Trust me you’ll feel lighter. And happier too!

Tell me an organizational tip you do with your wardrobe/closet?

Thanks for reading! -Ryn

Leave a Reply

