Where to eat in Buffalo & Canada

I like to eat. And I really like to go where the locals go. The BEST thing that you can do when traveling, is to ask the locals where they eat. Tell them no chains please. And if there are any great hole in the wall places, it seems to always work to your benefit. Also, you can ask the front desk of your hotel. They’re chock full of information! And if all else fails, type in top 10 restaurants in the area you’re staying and choose from the restaurants that sound good!

For us, we either saw restaurants,  heard from locals or looked on trip advisor.

image

image

Buffalo NY: The Eagle House
Hearty American comfort food in a cozy 19th-century tavern adorned with historical memorabilia. I actually  didn’t pick well for my entree when I ate here, the rueben looked waaay better, but I did love the decor & ambiance.

image

image

Buffalo NY: Charlie the butcher
The beef on weck is on point! So delicious! I’ll probably  keep dreaming of this place. It’s literally a whole in the wall place. But it has sweet potatoes, so there’s that. Just don’t ask too many questions, Charlie  himself can & may kick you out!

image

image

Hamilton, Canada: Cannon Coffee.
Yeah, I tend to find the BEST coffee places around! And they do milk froth designs, of course it was picture worthy!

image

image

Hamilton, Canada: Southern Smoke.
I found a BBQ place all the way in Canada. When the chefs found out that I was from texas, they were super nice! The BBQ was quite good, and the price is good for ones pocket book!

image

image

Hamilton, Canada: The Works
This place was delish! They have over 50 burgers to choose from on the menu or you can build your own hamburger. And their poutine is soo good!

image

Hamilton, Canada: Second cup.
Again, I should have ordered something different, such as coffee or hot chocolate, but instead I ordered a lemonade type drink… not great, tasted like an herbal cough drop. But the pecan bar is phenomenal, just saying!

image

image

Hamilton, Canada: The original Tim Hortons. This wasn’t the only Tim Hortons we came to, but it is the original! And I cannot recommend it enough! I ordered a very chocolaty coffee drink and it is divine. I wish Texas had a Tim Hortons…

image

Niagara on the lake, Canada: The lake house. If you loooove  a pretty view, you should dine here. If you want great food, you should dine here. If you would like great ambiance, you should dine here. If you’re not aware of what you’re about to order, ask questions… I ordered a peameal sandwich… which I’m not familiar with what peameal is, I assumed wrongly that it was a type of cheese and it was going to be like a grilled cheese. Wrong! Peameal = Canadian bacon. I don’t eat pork. Big mistake on my part! But, when I did order something else, it was great! I would totally dine here Again!

image

image

Niagara on the lake, Canada: Big smoke burger. So, you can’t use American  dollars here. And they won’t cut your hamburger  in half for you, but was the burger good? Yes. Was the poutine good? Mmhmm! Would I eat here again? If I was I needed to, yes. What can I expect, it was in an outlet mall…

image

image

Niagara Falls: Queen Charlotte tea room. Yes, just yes. At the moment I quite fancy having tea. It’s like my childhood is coming alive again! The salmon on croissant was yummy and whatever house tea I had was so good! I would definitely come back. And the day I went, it was cold & rainy out, Which helped it seems cozier.

image

Buffalo, NY: Wxyz bar. And last but not least, The Wxyz bar. I ordered to go two beef on wecks and an order of tater tot poutine… for an in-hotel food experience, I would totally order from them again!

Hope this helps as a guide to where your next dining experience should be! Enjoy! -Ryn

Leave a Reply

