Advent No.7: Winterize Your Skin

{Do you ever feel like you could be the best of friends with someone even if you’ve never personally met them yet? That’s how I feel about Kristen, she’s a makeup artist, blogger, a YouTuber and altogether beauty guru… And her smile is contagious! I just love her! Please go follow her blog & subscribe to her channel! You’ll love her too! Thank you, thank you, thank you Kristen for being here and writing for me! 😘-Ryn}
image
Hello lovelies! My name is Kristen. My Colleagues and Clients call me the Complexion Queen and to my friends and family I am the Beauty Guru. One of my favorite things to do is play with makeup and experiment with skincare on my YouTube channel Hunnybee Beauty and blog. The top questions I get from people about makeup and skincare are, “What is the best foundation for my skin type?” and “What are the best skincare products for my skin type?”.

During the winter season our skin needs a little more attention and we tend to like a little more coverage. With the holiday season here and in full swing we want to look and feel our best for parties and pictures! So here are my favorite foundations and skincare products for each skin type that I think you will love.
Let’s start with skincare since it is most important. Your makeup will only look as good as your skin. As we age our skin loses its youthfulness, elasticity and damage begins to surface. This is totally normal and natural and it happens to each and every one of us at different rates. Here are a few of my favorite products that work well with all skin

SKINCARE

image

Shiseido Eudermine Revitalizing Essence Essentially what this product does is help your skin to absorb any product you put on your skin maximizing the effects of your serums and moisturizers. If you’re like me, your skin has a hard time absorbing moisturizer so this product is a life saver!
First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Hydra-Firm Sleeping Cream This is my favorite nighttime moisturizer. It is thick and creamy but absorbs easily into the skin and gives you ultimate hydration as well as firms the skin. This brand is especially great for sensitive skin and severely dry skin.
Ole Henriksen Nurture Me I love this moisturizer for day or nighttime. Nurture Me is a calming, soothing moisturizer. During the winter our skin tends to dry out or become red and irritated from the cold and change in weather. This moisturizer will soothe  your skin and is pink and smells like fruity deliciousness.
Dr. Jart Ceramidin Cream This products is the ultimate hydration cure for dry to severely dry skin. I use this overnight after exfoliating and my skin is plump and fully hydrated in the morning.
Philosophy Microdelivery Peel There is no better exfoliant than this. This should be used no more than twice a week. It is a two step process that will peel away all dead skin cells and dry patches and leave your skin feeling as soft as a baby’s. I promise!
When it comes to foundations, I firmly believe in the investment. There are some great drugstore options, however, I find that they tend to break the skin out more often than not due to very poor ingredients. I believe it is best to wear a liquid foundation during the colder months because even if you have oily skin you can get dry patches and powder tends to cling to them. Here are my top liquid foundations for each skin type:

FOUNDATION
Combination/Oily Skin

image

Normal/Dry Skin

image

Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation This is a 12-hour, full coverage foundation with SPF 15. It is free of parabens, sulfates and harmful ingredients to the skin so it is ideal if you have sensitive skin. It is very blendable and smooth and works great with a buffing brush or Beauty Blender.
MakeUpForEver Mat Velvet+ This is an oil-free, water resistant full-coverage foundation. My absolute favorite for oily skin.
Too Faced Born This Way Foundation This is an oil-free foundation that leaves a radiant finish and is ideal for dry skin. It is formulated with coconut water to add extra hydration and leaves the skin looking healthy and glowing all day long.
NARS Sheer Glow An oldie but a goodie, NARS Sheer Glow gives you full coverage while feeling lightweight and giving the skin a natural healthy finish. This foundation is formulated to be applied with your fingers. You can also use a Beauty Blender.

I hope you all enjoyed my post and learned something! A HUGE Thank You! to the lovely Ryn for having me as a guest blog. I hope everyone has a happy, healthy holiday and Merry Christmas!
Much love,
Kristen

One thought on “Advent No.7: Winterize Your Skin

Leave a Reply

