Advent No.17: Gifts from the Home

{If you’re just now tuning in, or you’ve been with us from the beginning, I would like to introduce Dyanna aka my sister! And she’s here to bring some ideas to you about homemade gifts! You can read her previous blog here. Enjoy! -Ryn}

Hello again! So glad to be writing again for Ryn. Today I want to share with you some of my favorite things to make and give.

Most of these are super easy to make, especially if you are distributing gifts to several people, say coworkers or friends. And, I don’t know about you, but when someone takes their precious time to make a gift for me, it means the world to me!

Here goes:
1. Sugar Scrub – there are so many variations of this, but since it’s the Holidays, here is a seasonal recipe I have really enjoyed:
Gingerbread Sugar Scrub

2. Lip Scrub – this is the easiest EVER.
You just mix equal parts Brown Sugar, Coconut Oil, and Honey together until there are no lumps.
Package in little jars, like these:
Clear 1 oz Plastic Jar Black Lid 12-pk with Balm Jar

3. Bath Bombs – here is the recipe I use. Yes, these are a little tricky, but once you have it down, they are great!

4. Vanilla lotion – I have been using this for a couple months now. It’s the closest to store-bought lotion that I’ve ever made.  Smells delicious and is also very easy to make. Just be sure to cool the mixture before whipping.

5. Lip balm – this is my all-time favorite recipe and is a quick project:
Lip balm

1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 tablespoon beeswax
4-6 drops essential oil (such as peppermint, vanilla, or clove)

Melt oil and beeswax in small glass jar immersed in simmering water.
Remove from heat and stir in essential oil.

Pour into small jars or lip balm containers, such as these:
Keepie Factory 50 Empty Lip Balm Containers – FDA APPROVED 100% Non Toxic BPA Free MADE IN USA Round Tubes & Caps, White/White

Be sure to label them. I like using these:
Avery Print-to-the-Edge Square Labels, Kraft Brown, 2 x 2 Inches, Pack of 300 (22846)

image

image

6. Hand-painted Pillow
You can purchase all of the supplies for these at a local craft store. They usually have blank pillow covers, stencils, paint brush, and of course, acrylic paint. I like some of these simple designs:
And if you want to make your own design, just print it on freezer paper, cut it out, and iron it to your pillow cover.
Here’s a file with a deer head.

image

image

image

7. Piece of art – whether you are artsy or not, anyone can do this! If you purchase a blank canvas, a paintbrush, and some acrylic paint, you can have art. Look at these:
Of course, if you do have painting skills, even better to do something more elaborate!

8. Caramel Sauce – such a sweet gift (pun intended).  I have to admit, I don’t usually use a recipe, but I’m hoping this one is great for you!

9. Bread – I like this one because it is truly “no-fail.” You do have to let it sit overnight, so plan ahead.
It would be great given with a jar of my next idea.

10. Apple or Pear butter – what I love about this is that it has no added refined sugar. (The pear butter does have added honey.)
Crockpot Apple Butter
Stovetop Pear Butter

Be sure to tie these gifts up with pretty ribbon and a gift tag.

I sincerely hope you will try some of these out. I know your friends and family will feel special receiving a gift, truly made with love!

Thank you for reading! Have a truly joyous Christmas! -Dyanna

4 thoughts on “Advent No.17: Gifts from the Home

    1. Well, I’m sure you can! It might be a bit strange for your guests, but if that’s what you like, then I say go for it! Unless you don’t want to, then maybe hang something wordy… 😀

Leave a Reply

