Advent No.22: Christmas Nail Art

 {Here we have Jasmine, one of my favorites! She’s just the BEST! She’s a graphic designer, a foodie and a serious shopper! And I’m so happy to have her here, guest blogging for StyledByRyn! Please enjoy this tutorial and give her some love through comments and likes! -Ryn}

image

Christmas is my favorite time of year and nail art is my favorite so why not combine the two? If you’re anything like me, you like to paint your nails or at least get them done at the salon. I fall into the category of: I’ve got some free time on my hands, I think I’ll paint my nails. So, today I will be showing you how to create Christmas nails of your own!

What I used:

image

– Nail Polish Remover; my nails were painted before starting—I also used it later in the process to clean up any excess polish.

– Grow Faster base coat by Essie

– Forever yummy by Essie (or any red nail polish)

– Good as gold by Essie (or any gold nail polish)

– Dotting tool OR Bobby pin

– Nail art brush or any thin nail brush

– Wooden tool (I don’t know what it’s called but it is very useful!)

– Nail file

 

To begin, clean under your nails to yield a fresh look. Next, wash your hands and dry them thoroughly. This helps to get rid of any dirt you may have missed in the first step.  

image

Next I file my nails to make them as even as possible. This part is totally up to you, I like mine square shaped, but again—the choice is yours. After filing, I add a base coat. I used Grow Faster by Essie.

image

After applying the base coat, I begin to paint on the colors. I chose to use the colors: red, white and gold. But the color choices are up to you. Have fun with it! I painted every nail red except for the ring finger on each hand, for which I painted white.

There are a few options for drying after you’ve finished painting your nails. One is to let them dry for about 30 minutes and another is to add a fast drying topcoat. In either case, you’d still have to wait a bit. I promise the end result is worth it!

image

Here’s where the designs come in. (Quick disclaimer; this is my first nail art tutorial so please bare with me. I am more than happy to answer any questions you may have.)

Stripes/Lines:

This is where the nail art brush comes in, what you want to do is use that brush for whichever color stripe you’re wanting to achieve. In my case, my stripes are white. My nail art polish just so happens to be white so that made it easier for me.

I also used gold in which case I removed the white nail art brush from it’s original nail polish, cleaned it off and then added it to my gold nail polish to create the gold stripes.

The process is fairly simple, dip the nail art brush into your chosen colored polish and brush it gently on the sides of the body (the opening area) and then add to your nail. A trick I’ve learned is to place the brush on your nail but instead of moving the brush, move your finger accordingly. (I hope that makes sense, as it is hard to explain in writing.)

For the diagonal lines, I used the nail art brush again and painted diagonally. The best I can explain this: think triangle and paint accordingly.

Star/Snowflake:

Pictured above is my attempt at a snowflake, which looks more like a star. I like the idea of a snowflake so I’ll leave it at that, lol. The best way to describe this is to make an x and then add more lines, diagonally and horizontally. To achieve this look, I used my nail art brush. Now that I think about it, you may also be able to use a toothpick.

image

Polka Dots:

For polka dots I use the dotting tool pictured above but you may also use a bobby pin. I usually take my nail brush and add a few drops of polish to a sheet of paper. You can also dip your bobby pin or dotting tool directly into the polish—whichever works best for you. Now it is time to apply the polka dots. There is no special way in doing this. You can add as many or as little dots as you’d please. Again, have fun!  

Candy Cane/Peppermint:

Finally, the peppermint nail! Keep in mind what you learned about the stripes and paint accordingly. I’m right handed so I purposely chose this design for my left hand. Begin by using your nail art brush from the bottom of your nail to the upper part of your nail. With each new stripe, move over just a little. The fun thing about this design is, candy cane stripes are typically different sizes—so have fun with it!

image

That’s all to it! This was very hard to explain in writing, but I hope that I helped you create an awesome Christmas mani—or at least inspired you to! This is a design that you can create for yourself or others! Maybe you can have a girl’s night or practice on your daughters or your younger siblings. Either way, I hope you’ve enjoyed this tutorial and I pray you have the greatest Christmas ever!

 Love, Jasmine

Leave a Reply

