Organize + Maintain your Closet

January hit and all I wanted to do was go through my closet and organize it. I store a lot in a 19 1/2 square foot walk in closet… Such as hanging clothes, shoes, extra bed sheets, laundry hamper, things to sell on poshmark, my bras and camisoles(for easy access) etc…and occasionally a dog, who loves to sleep in my closet. (I don’t blame her) I’m surprised I have room to actually walk in. But I still had a bit of space to stand. But it was getting out of hand. So, I had to do something about it. I needed to clean. And I needed to purge some things. It just had to be done.

Now, I’m one that when I work on a clients closet. I also like to reorganize it. So, it may not be disorganized in the sense of it being messy, but it’s unorganized to me, and I lose track of garments that I could be pairing in an outfit, if the clothes are in disarray. I then feel the need to reorganize it. 

So here is my formula to making a closet work to you advantage…
• I organize shirts: blouses, button downs, sweaters,  jackets & dresses together (at least I do this in my closet). The ombré effect really. Then tees and sweatshirts together. And lastly workout gear, pants and then skirts. It works. It’s obtainable. Perfect to reach in and grab/pair outfits together.
* You can organize by color. But I don’t tend to as my closet is pretty much filled with black, grey, white and denim. No need for me.

image

• Another thing is to allow myself 3 items that may not fit me right now to stay until I can fit into them or until I get tired of seeing them in my closet. 3 and no more. If I keep more than three, then I waste needed space.

• Another thing I do, is to go through my clothes. I have five categories I put my clothes in…
Keep: the items I want to keep. Things that are classic or staples. Or trends that are still “in”.
Sell: items that you haven’t had a chance to really love, items that others would love more. Name brand items really…
Give: The items that aren’t name brand. And could be donated.
Trash: The well loved, falling apart, pilling, cracked, ripped, has holes in it and shouldn’t have holes in them kind of clothes should always be thrown away. Period.
Seasonal: these clothes are mainly winter/summer clothes. You need to store these in an airtight container. And bring them out right before winter/summer begins.

image

• Make a buying list of what you would like to buy in the coming months for your wardrobe. It may be a blazer, Nike sneakers, a pencil skirt, more v-neck tees…. Whatever you want. Write it down(you can totally write it on your phone…this is what I do). Then when shopping, you can go over your list and see what you really need vs just what you want that could clutter up your closet.

image

• So, I learned this tip from a client actually, and it was to turn all your hangers outward. And then as the days & weeks go by, you hang the clothes that you’ve worn back up, having the hooks facing the regular way. You can then see what you actually wear vs the things that you just need to give away/sell.

• Another thing, if you’re unsure about an item you already bought, come up with 3 outfits to pair that said item with. Then take it a step further, and make it a point to actually wear those outfits. If by the 3rd time wearing it, you don’t like it, sell or give it away.

image

• You’ve probably noticed by now that I’ve painted my closet a bright olive oil color… I did this, so that my clothes would pop against it. Helping me see what I have and also making my closet feel more fun + happy.

• Last but certainly not least. Change your lightbulb for an even brighter lightbulb to make your closet brighter. You need to see your clothes, as to not go out of the house with colors that don’t go well together. Of course you can make it look good. Just better lighting helps.

So those are some tips to cleaning and maintaining your closets.
If you have any tips for organizing your closet, please tell me in the comments! Thanks & Happy Monday! -Ryn

Leave a Reply

